Gary Patrick earns another leading owner title

It is familiar territory for Gary Patrick. The longtime owner-trainer in Indiana picked up another Leading Owner title at Indiana Grand this season, scoring 24 wins over John Haran’s Haran Thoroughbreds, who completed the season with 23 wins.


Gary Patrick and his wife, Cindy, are shown with the special sign to commemorate their 2,000th win as a trainer. Patrick is currently the all-time leading owner and trainer at Indiana Grand. (Photo by Linscott Photography)

Patrick, a native of Circleville, Ohio, has had another banner fall in racing. He scored a stakes win with his two-year-old standout, Mo Money, in the $100,000 Crown Ambassador Stakes in early October at Indiana Grand. One week later, Patrick earned his 2,000th career training win after scoring two wins on the day, including the $75,000 Emerald Necklace Stakes with Pure Justice at JACK Thistledown.

 The race for leading owner came down to one of the last races of the meet for 2017, but in the end Patrick’s final win of the meet as an owner, which was recorded with Cook Memories on Wed., Oct. 25, was the win that solidified the title. Patrick finished up the 120-day meet with 24 wins in 186 starts and purse earnings just under the $500,000 mark. Horses from his barn maintained a 35 percent top three finish percentage for 2017 at Indiana Grand.

 Patrick increased his lead as the track’s all-time leading owner. He now has 225 career wins at Indiana Grand with career purse earnings of just under $2.9 million. Patrick is also the track’s all-time leading trainer, scoring 342 career wins at Indiana Grand over the past 15 years of racing.

 Patrick and his wife, Cindy, oversee their own operation and do the majority of the work themselves. They own a farm in Pendleton, Ind., their base in the summer, and return to their farm near Brooksville, Fla. in the Tampa area for the winter.

 Racing at Indiana Grand will resume in April 2018 for the 16th season of Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse action. Official dates will be announced soon by the Indiana Horse Racing Commission.